Making the Most Out of One Stamp

As my very first post, on my very first blog, I wanted to showcase something that all crafters appreciate: GETTING BANG OUT OF EVERY BUCK!

Image

In these cards I showcased the extremely cute Holiday Puppy Wood Stamp by Inkadinkado. You still have to love him even though he broke your ornament!!! It is important to use your stamps in multiple ways with multiple techniques to justify spending upwards of $10 on one single stamp.

Image

Image

This stamp offers so many possibilities for holiday cards.  The first card is so easy to replicate too.  I stamped the puppy three times in different Hero Arts Shadow Inks – Red Royal, Gold, and Forever Green.  I have them in the Hero Arts Christmas Cube Ink Set which is the format I have most of my Hero Arts Shadow Inks.  You can re-ink them and I find them easier to handle when I am trying different techniques. It also does not hurt that they are much more cost effective for me in the cube form.  I was going to keep this card on the extremely simple and classic side, but while stamping I got a pretty big red ink mark in between the red and gold puppies so I decided to use some tiny cupped sequins to try and cover my mess. Obviously, it does not look perfect, but the sequins definitely helped while adding a little dimension and shine to the card.

Image

Image

The next card is so fun to make because it uses a bunch of different techniques! For this card I stole my inspiration from a blogpost by Jennifer McGuire where she used this same Hero Arts Tiny Flags Background Stamp and “double-stamped” it in two different colors to get a different look to the background.  I’m absolutely obsessed with this technique and I know I’ll be using it with a bunch of my other background stamps.

I also used another background stamp to create the circle frame around the puppy’s face.  I stamped the Polka Dot Background Stamp by Inkadinkado in Memento Luxe Nautical Blue and heat embossed it with some Hero Arts Clear Embossing Powder.  I then diecut the puppy’s face as well as the circle frame using some of Spellbinder’s Standard Circle Nestabilities dies and attached them to the flag background piece with some 3M Foam Adhesive to give a little dimension.  As a final touch, I accented some of the embossed blue dots with some Black Enamel Accents and the bells with Champagne Stickles.

Image

Image

My final card uses products that I use on the daily! For this card I colored the puppy with Distress Markers on Tim Holtz Distress Watercolor Cardstock and cut him out with a little bit of a border.  I then inked up my Darice Paw Print Embossing Folder with Barn Door and Mowed Lawn Distress Ink Pads and ran it through my Sizzix BIGkick Machine. I then took some Tea Die Distress Ink and blended it into the puppy and edges of the paw print background to give them both a more “Tim Holtzy” look. I cut my background into strips and then applied them to the card so you can see the white underneath.

For all of these cards I used sentiments from the Simon Says Stamp Christmas Clear Stamp Set and Neenah Solar White Cardstock.

I can still think of more and more ways to make use out of this one little puppy, but I really hope you enjoyed the three cards I shared.  I also hope you are a little more tempted to use those stamps you buy for more than one or two projects. Never forget: the possibilities are endless!!!

SUPPLIES:


Leave a Reply

