Technicolored Tuesday – Tie Dye Background Technique

I am so excited to be sharing my first brand new technique card!  I am starting a series called “Technicolored Tuesday.” I am very aware that it is now Wednesday, but I was not prepared for how much work goes into creating a video! WOW! I have even more admiration for the ladies I watch all the time. Hopefully, from now on my Technicolored Tuesday blogs will be on time!

Here is the link to the video… FINALLY!

And here is the super cute end product card!

IMG_7751

Now let’s get into it…

I used Tim Holtz Distress Watercolor Cardstock and created this fabulous Tie-Dye background by using a rainbow of Tim Holtz Distress Markers (Barn Door, Spiced Marmalade, Mustard Seed, Mowed Lawn, Salty Ocean, Chipped Sapphire, and Seedless Preserves). You need to create a swirled background, but there is no perfection in this technique. Sometimes the messier the better and more authentic it looks.

I then used a Digital Stamp from Jane’s Doodles called Santa Peace and colored him with some COPIC Markers. Looking back, I wish I would have made him a little bigger, but having the card vertical instead of horizontal made a big difference.

IMG_7748

I used E31 and E33 for his face and hands, C1 and C3 for his hair, beard, fur lining, and white undershirt, R22, R24, and R29 for his coat and pants, YG09 and YG67 for his mug and suspenders, and lastly 100 for his boots. I love the way he turned out and I think he just looks perfect.

 IMG_7750

Leave a Reply

