Technicolored Tuesday – Hero Arts 2014

IMG_7827

IMG_7824

As one final Christmas card, I wanted this to be an extra special Technicolored Tuesday featuring my favorite stamp from Hero Arts 2014 Catalog that was just released. This is the Tiny Flags Background Stamp! All of the inks and the other stamp set I used are also Hero Arts. You really cannot go wrong with their products!

IMG_7815

For this card I used 4 different cube sets by Hero Arts that I got from SimonSaysStamp.com: Blackboard, Field Notes, Summer Splash, and of course Christmas. I love the cubes, and think that techniques like this are exactly why I prefer them to a large ink pad. I’ll link the cubes in my supply list, but when I talk about each color I’ll link the whole ink pad within this post, just in case you are a “big pad” kind of crafter. I took photos during my stamping, so you could see how I accomplished this blending of the colors without compromising any of my ink pads.

IMG_7808

I started out inking the area of the stamp the goes over the previous color, but continues further.

IMG_7807

I then took a dry baby wipe and blotted around all of the ink so there would not be any harsh lines.

IMG_7806

I then took my standard A2 Neenah Solar White card-front and aligned the corner at the same place each time I used a new color. Aligning the stamp right is very important if you want your stamped image to look continuous. Using a Stamp-A-Ma-Jig would be ideal for this technique, but I do not have one…. YET 🙂

IMG_7805

After placing the card-front onto the inked stamp you also want to let it sit the for a bit while applying pressure to all areas of the stamp. This will allow the ink to really dye the paper and sink into it so you get a nice, solid image.

IMG_7816

… BEAUTIFUL! I used the following colors in this order (right to left in the photo): Red Royal, Orange Soda, Butter Bar, Green Hills, Cornflower, Passion Flower, and Silver. I really wanted the silver to just fade off so I blotted its edge a little bit more than the rest to ensure its edges were much lighter. I really think this is the best way to get this rainbow effect to a stamp because I would worry that blending the inks on the stamp and stamping the image all at once would mix the colors on my ink cubes as I put on one color after another.
IMG_7817

I then used the Hero Arts Snow Much Joy Stamp Set and stamped my sentiment in Red Royal and the tree in Blackboard. I put a pennant flag end on my sentiment panel,colored my tree with COPIC markers, and cut it out with my BRAND NEW FAVORITE SCISSORS OF ALL TIME Tim Holtz Tonic Scissors. I got these from my sister as an early Christmas present and, believe me when I say this… They. Cut. Like. Butter!

IMG_7820

I adhered the sentiment with some 3M Foam Adhesive and also put some behind the entire card-front to mount it on red cardstock to look a little more festive.

IMG_7822

The tree was adhered with some Tombow Mono Multi Glue on the top, but I wanted it to hang below the sentiment so I put some 3M Foam Adhesive on the bottom of the tree so it stayed even with the sentiment.

IMG_7826

IMG_7829

That is the card for the day! I hope you enjoyed and everyone has a BRIGHT AND SPARKLING CHRISTMAS!

SUPPLIES:

Leave a Reply

