Technicolored Tuesday – Washi Tape Polaroid Card

IMG_0077I’m not even going to try to explain why this post is so late, but I am going to make it all up to everyone because I have a HUGE surprise coming up! I don’t want to ruin the surprise, but it has to do with an extremely affordable craft room storage solution.

I’m excited too, but let’s get to today’s card. I used this awesome washi tape from Michaels. I got it on clearance so I couldn’t find a link online, but really any washi tape will do the trick for this technique. Using different washi tapes gives so many different style options and theme options for how this card could turn out.

IMG_0049The first thing you want to do is layer the washi tape to prepare your own background for die-cutting.

IMG_0055I then used the adorable Lawn Fawn Say Cheese die to cut out the polaroid shape from my panel. I have a Sizzix Big Kick, but any die cutting machine will work.

IMG_0059For this card, I only use the polaroid frame, but you should keep the inside square because it could be used for another card as a background to a sentiment or in a million other ways.

IMG_0063I heat embossed the Hero Arts Hello Bubble Stamp onto the leftover washi tape panel with Versamark and some Hero Arts White Embossing Powder.

IMG_0065As you can see, it didn’t quite turn out how I wanted it, and you couldn’t really read the sentiment. I decided to use one of my Wink of Stella Pens to color in the sentiment to make it easier to read.

IMG_0069I put a picture of my puppy, Jax, in the colorful polaroid frame. He’s definitely doing the Miley Cyrus pose. Haha.

I attached him and the frame using my Tombow Stamp Runner, but I wanted the hello bubble to really stand out. After cutting it out with my Tim Holtz Scissors, I doubled-up on some 3M Foam adhesive to make it pop.

IMG_0074Lastly, I added some stitch lines with that same Black Wink of Stella Pen and some dots of Black Ranger Enamel Accents to give the perfect amount of dimension.

IMG_0072

IMG_0071

IMG_0077That’s all for today! Get ready for the great things coming up!!!

 

Leave a Reply

