Technicolored Tuesday – Customized Foam Board Craft / Ink Pad Storage

IMG_0143

I am so excited to be sharing such a big Technicolored Tuesday project with everyone today! This customized foam board storage unit cost me around $6!!! Granted, it took me an entire day (6-7 hours) to complete, it was well worth it to save the $70-$80 I would have spent on a comparable unit. I definitely think it can be considered technicolored once it’s filled with my supplies!!!

IMG_0145

My unit holds 35 large ink pads, 20 small ink cubes, has 10 marker/pen holders, and a large area at the bottom for my punches, embossing supplies, distress supplies, Stickles, and more!

IMG_0147

The above photo is a picture of my sisters unit I made for her. It holds 72 Stickles (also fitting perfect pearls, enamels accents, or distress paints), and 12 large ink pads.

If you feel like customizing your own, here are a few tips:

1. The foam board itself is about 1/4 inch thick. That must be accounted for in ALL measurements!

2. Using this “puzzle piece” method with the slots is BY FAR the sturdiest option for these units. I’ve seen people use packing tape and all other forms of adhesive, but they will all warp without having these slots holding them in place. The slots combined with the hot glue give the best hold without a doubt!

3. Large ink pads need AT LEAST 4 in across and 1 in high. I gave extra room for my fingers to be able to slide over top because that is the easiest way for me to get them out. Small ink pads need AT LEAST half that length (2 in), and Stickles need at least 1.25 in.

4. Making the side panels widen at the bottom gives you a sturdier base so it will not fall over!

5. Patience and determination are necessary when getting into a big project like this.

6. It gets easier with practice! I promise!

Here is a video just to get your crafting kicked off:

I am a very visual person. I’ve seen numerous foam storage posts, but just seeing the numbers does not help me unless I can see exactly what it should look like. So, here are the dimensions for my exact unit along with the photos:

IMG_0156

You will need ONE back panel that measures 24 in x 20.5 in. Before I hot glued my entire project together I used a pencil and drew out the 1/4 inch lines in all the places my shelves would lay. This made it much easier to assemble, and it did not give the hot glue time to harden before I got each panel down. It is essential to work quickly, so the pencil marks definitely helped.

IMG_0158

You will need ONE top panel measuring 2.5 in x 24 in, and ONE bottom panel measuring 5.5 in x 24 in. I may have mentioned this before, but if you don’t have your unit get larger towards the bottom, it will most likely get top-heavy and want to tend to fall forward.

IMG_0148

You will need TWO side panels with the measurements above (20 in x 2.5 in x 10.5 in [with a 10 in angle] x 5.5 in).

IMG_0154

As for the standard ink pad shelves, you will need SEVEN 23.5 in x 2.5 in shelves with 1.25 in x .25 in divots every 4.5 inches.

IMG_0152

For the small ink pad / COPIC marker shelves, you will need TWO 23.5 in x 2.5 in shelves with 1.25 in x .25 in divots every 2.125 inches. You also need a wider shelf to make sure your markers and pens don’t fall out. The dimensions are in the picture above, but that shelf is really up to your personal preference.

IMG_0150

Lastly, to separate the sections you will need FOUR tall vertical shelves measuring 14.25 in x 2.5 in with 1.25 in x .25 in divots every 1.25 inches, and FIVE small vertical shelves only 4.25 in x 2.5 in with 1.25 in x .25 in divots every 1.25 inches.

Please do not hesitate to ask me any questions you may have! It may seem daunting during the process, but once you start assembling you will see the fruits of your efforts!

Enjoy!

SUPPLIES:

Leave a Reply

