COPIC Markers for Card Makers: Card inspired by Debby Hughes

IMG_2348

If you have been following my Instagram, you are aware that I am completely obsessed with the COPIC Markers for Card Makers class from Online Card Classes. Today was the first day I really got to spend some time making a whole card, and I’m so excited to have tried something completely new, but right up my alley at the same time.

Debby Hughes was a guest today, and I was so inspired by her watercolor/mixed-media-like styled cards.

IMG_2347

For my card, I used one of the classes practice images that is actually from Lawn Fawn‘s Critters in the Burbs Stamp Set. I colored it using the technique Debby showed (I highly recommending signing up for the class – if you haven’t already – to access this technique video as well as MANY others), then I cut it out using some precision scissors, and fixed my edges with a black felt tip marker.

I used a piece of Neenah Solar White 110# Cardstock, the Tim Holtz THS024 Chevron Layering Stencil, and some Wendy Vecchi White Embossing Paste to make an imperfect strip of texture coming from the top left of my card. After allowing it to dry completely, I cut a 1” Strip of Studio Calico {Hex} Vellum, ripped the long end to my desired size, and adhered it with a little but of Studio Multi Medium Matte. I NEEDED to use this sentiment from the Feathered Friends STAMPtember collaboration of Lawn Fawn And Simon Says Stamp! It says “friends forever,” but with ‘selective-inking’ I made it say “friends furever.” I grabbed a strand of light green thread and crumbled it up – I added some foam squares to the back of my puppy image and adhered it down over the thread to hold it in place. Lastly, I embellished my card with some Lawn Fawn sequins from some past collections.

IMG_2349

I really LOVE how this card turned out, and I would encourage everyone to try something new whenever they need some inspiration!

SUPPLIES:

Leave a Reply

